Posts Tagged ‘Women Health’

Minimum Car Insurance Requirements for Drivers in Louisiana

April 21st, 2022

Majority of the vehicles in Louisiana are covered with auto insurance. In Louisiana, it is a requirement for all types of cars to be covered with insurance. Examples of vehicles that don’t need insurance coverage include parade vehicles and vehicles owned by the government in Louisiana. The liability insurance limit in Louisiana is 15/30/25. It means that you have to buy bodily injury coverage worth $15,000 for person. The insurance coverage limit for per accident is $30,000. For property damage, the liability insurance coverage limit is $25,000.

Uninsured/underinsured insurance is an optional coverage In Louisiana. The uninsured/underinsured insurance provides protection for motorists that are hit by drivers without insurance or insufficient coverage. It provides protection for any accident victim that suffers from bodily injury. Although it is not a requirement in Louisiana, it is recommended that you purchase it. To protect you from bankruptcy, you should purchase sufficient insurance to cover all the damage costs that are likely to incur in the accident.

If you are using a rental car, you have to buy the rental car insurance. The requirement for the rental car insurance is different than the requirement for the liability insurance. You can obtain the rental car insurance for free if you have a credit card. You have to purchase the rental car insurance if your credit card company does not offer it for free of charge.

Every driver must provide proof of financial responsibility. You are required to show the insurance card when the law enforcement officer request it. It is important that you carry the insurance card no m matter where you go. If you did not carry the insurance card, you will be fined. The amount of fines incurred the driver depends on how long you take to produce the document proof. If you manage to provide the insurance coverage proof within 10 days, you won’t be fined. If you produce the proof between 11 – 30 days, you will be charged with a fine of $50. If you tarry up to 90 days, you will have to pay a $125 fine. If you take more than 91 days to show the insurance proof, you will be fined up to $225.